Don't sit under the olive tree with anyone else... - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu Don't sit under the olive tree with anyone else... - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

Don't sit under the olive tree with anyone else...

Door: Marlies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

29 Maart 2011 | Libanon, Beiroet

Dear readers,

Thank you all for reading my stories and leaving comments! I very much like to hear your thoughts and remarks about this journal. Please continue to read and write :)

Last Sunday I went on a hike through the area of Batroumine, more to the north of Lebanon. My flat mate Rola told me about it and so Sunday morning we left the house before eight to go to the parking lot where the hiking group collected. I immediately noticed these people are more experienced hikers than I am. I could conclude this before even talking to them but just by looking at their prepared-for-everything outfits. The noses of my running shoes looked up at me for a second, but I decided now that I was there, at 08.15 on Sunday morning, I better make the best of it. In two buses the group left for Batroumine. Fortunately we stopped half-way for breakfast because completely against my normal routine I had left the house without eating anything! Not even fruits! So my stomach was very happy when the roadside restaurant we stopped at had manouche, a thin round piece of bread folded with vegetables, thyme or cheese inside. I love the bread here. I could eat it all day! And there are so many different kinds! But anyway, back to the hike. After the manouche we drove by the seaside until we turned right somewhere to go up into the mountains. The poor old bus protested loudly and when I saw the steep hill it was slowly climbing I unintentionally leaned forward. We eventually stopped at the small town of Batroumine, where a friendly and enthusiastic resident showed us the old ruins from the Byzantine period. After a lovely walk around the town we started the hike. For a few hours we walked through fields and open forests, light with friendly small trees, moss, dried leaves and grass under our feet. I could see the sea sparkle at me from a distance. From a great height we saw a small green field with olive trees beneath us between the darker vegetation on the mountain hills. As we walked down we stared hearing a river and before we reached the olive tree field we had to jump over the small stream. The grounds around it were muddy and because the view was disappearing as we went down, I amused myself with discovering animal tracks leading to the water. At lunch time we reached the olive field and sat down in the shade under the trees to eat. The traffic, fumes, noises and stress of the city were miles away and I enjoyed listening to the playful conversations of my fellow hikers even though I mostly didn’t understand them. After about half an hour we continued our walk. The paths became smaller and more covered by the forest. Sometimes we had to climb up a very steep hill which resulted in a waiting line while watching the people before you struggle to get up and planning where to put your feet as to go up most gracefully. It never worked out as I planned but it humored the others I think. Fortunately everyone was willing to help so even the less flexible and courageous hikers made it up the hills. Around four o’clock, when the strong sun was pleasantly covered by a few clouds, I started to feel my feet and was happy to see the buses again. On the way back we stopped by another road side restaurant for ice cream (again: I have yet to taste any food I don’t like here ;) and around six (traffic…) we made it back to Beirut.
I had no pain in my feet on Monday morning, but I did decide to take a taxi to work instead of walking, just in case ;) However, I must say, integrating into the habits of daily life here helps to handle the sometimes very strange taxi-driver. So our misunderstandings result in a huge de-tour and a later then usual arrival at the office? So the driver offers me vodka while driving in the middle of the road (which, by the way, is no indication for him being drunk)? At least he is friendly and makes a real effort to explain what he likes about Holland (although I would have been fine with not stopping in the middle of the street to ask another driver for the translation of the word ‘cow’…). Usually, as I indicated before, language knowledge here is incredible. Not just my colleague’s but also (most) taxi-drivers, salesgirls and other people I meet can quickly swift to whichever language you prefer. Quite impressive! I am also impressed by everyone’s knowledge of their countries history and political situation. I can ask any of my colleague’s about any detail in the news and they give me a history overview as if I opened a wikipedia-page. Political discussions here can run high but everyone’s opinion seems respected (apparently, declaring your disagreement in a loud voice while the other is still talking does not constitute a fight ;) Strangely enough, there also seems to be a more general knowledge of other countries and cultures (I say strangely because I was pretty tongue-tied when, during another political discussion at lunch, my colleague suddenly asked me: “I’ve always wondered why, while the Netherlands is a parliamentary democracy and the queen has practically no political influence, her mother’s birthday is such an important national holiday?”….)

Anyway, I am still enjoying my time here very much. I could keep writing about all the things I like and/or am amazed by, but I am sure you all also have work to do ;) So thanks again for reading and commenting and have a good week!

Marlies

  • 29 Maart 2011 - 17:28

    Sissi:

    Marlies wat leuk om je bijzondere verhalen te lezen. Ik geniet elke keer weer. Succes met je missie!

    Groetjes Sissi

  • 29 Maart 2011 - 20:43

    Els:

    Leuk verhaal weer zussie :D Vooral dat je dan voorover gaat leunen in de bus haha, kan ik me voorstellen!! Erg leuk om te lezen. Succes deze week weer!!
    Kusjeee xxx

  • 30 Maart 2011 - 07:23

    Mandy:

    Wat een mooi verhaal! Heb je je al opgegeven voor Nijmeegse vierdaagse? ;) Hou je taai! Groetjes,

  • 30 Maart 2011 - 13:23

    Maartje:

    Fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt en de foto's zien er supermooi uit! Ben jaloers! Hier is het ook lekker weer geweest, dus niks te klagen behalve dan dat ik de meeste tijd achter de computer zit.

  • 30 Maart 2011 - 21:45

    Berthe:

    Hoi Marlies,
    Dit was weer een mooi verhaal, ik zie het helemaal voor me. Net zoals Maartje ben ook ik een heel klein beetje jaloers op je, dat zal wel in de genen zitten. Geweldig om zo een poos in een heel andere wereld te mogen leven en werken. Groetjes van Berthe en Bert.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Libanon, Beiroet

Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 273
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40558

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: