Reading and observing - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu Reading and observing - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

Reading and observing

Door: Marlies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

18 Maart 2011 | Libanon, Beiroet

After two weeks I am starting to develop a rhythm in parts of my days here, for instance to look at the light on my laptop to see if there is power that morning. The power gets cut a few hours every day, but you don’t know which hours and in the morning is especially irritating for me. The UNHCR has a generator so there I won’t notice the power cuts. Another thing I am trying to get used to is taking a taxi to work every morning. Fortunately it is not expensive but I am still learning to make sure the driver has understood me about the price because already twice I’ve had to pay too much. When the misunderstanding becomes clear at the end of the ride and the driver demands more money or doesn’t give change there’s no way to argue with the fast, loud and mostly Arabic explanation of the driver, but I always tell myself: next time I check it twice before getting in the car! Going back home from work I like to walk by the seaside, but it takes about an hour so I only do it if I have time and if the weather allows it (but it has been nice an sunny all week now :) )

Something else new and interesting is the Lebanese food. Not just the restaurants but the food (lunch and breakfast!) my mostly Lebanese colleague’s bring to the office and kindly offer me to try when I ask what it is. I haven’t tasted a single Lebanese dish I didn’t like so far, so that’s not very good for my diet (I’ve been told all Lebanese woman go on a diet when summer is approaching, which explains everyone’s enthusiasm to share their food with me ;) People here seem very concerned with there appearance. Not only to be slim, but also to wear fashionable (tight) clothing, make-up and high heels. When walking in the going-out area on Saturday night all the high heels, short skirts, layers of make-up and perfectly groomed hair of the women around me made me almost uncomfortable in my jeans, all stars and long-sleeved shirt. I say almost, because I rather feel a little different then walk around the traitorously small and uneven sidewalks with their many holes, on stiletto heels. But I must admit I am partly this harsh on Lebanese woman because I am jealous of their beauty which is evident despite their make-up and fancy outfit.
The men are not above this either might I add! No make-up ;) but blackberry’s and huge cars seem to be mandatory! The blackberry’s I can sort of understand, but the big jeeps are downright the most unpractical cars to have in this city! The streets are small, the traffic is crazy and there are barely parking spaces! But most importantly: almost all the people driving those cars don’t need them! They have them for status purposes only! Appearance again ;) On that area I’ll probably won’t blend in here (no blackberry and even in a Beatle I’ll get myself killed before the end of the street!)

Back to the main reason I came to Lebanon: my internship. The last two weeks I have mostly been reading and got briefings by the different units about their tasks and activities. The reading is very interesting! It is mostly about Iraq, the situation of refugees in Lebanon and the activities of the UNHCR. When you come to seek asylum in Lebanon after you’ve fled Iraq you have three options after you’ve been given refugee status by the UNHCR:
1) Go back to Iraq (not a realistic option considering the security situation there)
2) Integrate in Lebanon (not really possible since Lebanon doesn’t recognize your refugee status)
3) Resettle to a third country (like the Netherlands or the USA).
Since the last is basically the only feasible option, almost all refugees have to be resettled. This is not easy. Almost every resettlement country has a quota on how many refugees are invited to come to their country for resettlement (the Netherlands for instance invite about 500 refugees every year, but not only from Iraq of course!). If during your interviews with the UNHCR you lie about your situation in Iraq (because you’re scared, you want to make your situation look more severe, or others told you to lie) or if you give fraudulent documents (false ID, false birth/death certificate ect.) it will be very difficult to resettle you because countries will think you’ve lied about other things as well. Also, if you’ve committed a crime (severe, but not big enough to exclude you from being given refugee status) countries will also prefer not resettling you in their country. This way, a group exists in Lebanon of who the UNHCR at first glance thought they couldn’t be resettled. However, they cannot stay in Lebanon and they cannot go back, so what must happen with these people? Their fills have not been attended to for a while and for the next few months I will be reviewing those cases in-dept and give a recommendation on how to proceed. As you can imagine, I need to know everything about all the UNHCR criteria and procedures, Lebanese laws and Iraqi history before I can give any kind of useful recommendation. Hence the reading :)

So, I hope my activities are a bit more clear now. Please be aware that this is the situation and the work in a, hopefully understandable, nutshell, and that there is much more to tell and explain!

But first: it is almost weekend and I am planning to enjoy the good weather, the friendly shops and the good food a little more! Hope you all have a great weekend as well!

Marlies

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 13:02

    Maartje:

    Heej Lies,

    klinkt interessant allemaal! Ga je met iemand de hort op in het weekend of in je eentje?

    groetjes!

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 13:09

    Petrus Nelissen:

    Ha, stroomcuts. Dat herken ik.
    Vrouwen die vrouw willen zijn en mannen die man willen zijn, herken ik ook.
    Buiten Nederland is er een heel andere wereld te ontdekken.
    Geen gemakkelijk werk dat je hebt. Soms mensen niet kunnen helpen is heel moeilijk.

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 13:16

    Mam:

    Lieve Liesje,

    Je schrijft prachtig, het is alsof ik een boek lees! Maar het is realiteit, dat besef ik heel goed.
    Geniet maar lekker van je weekend enne...ook op all stars kun je flaneren hoor!
    kus

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 13:29

    Tinus:

    Heeee sis!!
    good to hear from you again!!! I like knowing what it is you're doing there!! Thanks for explaning. The weather here is acceptable, but not too great. No sun here in Amersfoort, but it's about 10 degrees and this weekend it might be 12-15 degrees! So hopefully we can enjoy the sun this weekend! Mama told me she did allready this week. She spend two-and-a-half hours in a seat in the backyard in the sun!! So jealous of her!! I miss a garden here! Anyway, hope you enjoy your weekend!! Do you have any specific plans? All my love and we'll talk soon!!!

    Tinus

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 20:40

    Roel:

    Hi liesje,
    Nice report again. I get the feeling that I do understand already a bit of Beiroet. It is a city where at one hand many cultures come together, and at the other hand it is a city where people can forget what is happening outside the city. It is as modern as Paris, but just outside it is almost a develloping country.
    Most impressing in a town like this is the smell. When it is just smelling after petrol, the not fully burned petrol of the motorbikes, it is really a city in a devellping country.
    I was recently in Bangladesh. There is was just normal too that there was no electricity for a few hours a day. Everyone knows, and nobody complain.
    I hope that you like your work, and that you will have the feeling that you can do at least something for the refugess in the area.
    Hope you will have a very good weekend!!
    Roel

  • 21 Maart 2011 - 13:42

    Berthe:

    Hoi Marlies,
    Leuk om je berichten te lezen. Wat leef je nu weer in een hele andere wereld. Mooi dat je ook over de inhoud van je werk vertelt; hoop erg voor deze mensen dat er een oplossing komt en mooi zou het zijn als jij daarbij kunt helpen.

    Heel veel liefs ook van Bert,,,,, Berthe.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Libanon, Beiroet

Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 308
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40556

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: