Independence Day - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu Independence Day - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

Independence Day

Door: Marlies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

22 November 2013 | Libanon, Beiroet

Dear all,

It is Friday afternoon. Independence Day in Lebanon. I am at work, despite the fact that this is an official holiday, but since I am just waiting for a colleague now I decided to write something in the spirit of independence….

It was quiet in Beirut this morning. People were sleeping in on their day off. The taxi took me to the bus station in less than ten minutes, while it usually takes at least twenty. The driver and another passenger discussed the radio show they were listening to, talking about the bombing in Beirut a few days ago. It is tragic, evil, scary and a waste of innocent lives. So far the driver and his passenger agreed. When the question rose if all this violence was necessary, however, they argued. A heated discussion about sacrifices, history, religious and political groups, alliance, and possible future scenarios followed. Of course I stayed out of it. Not only my active knowledge of the language prevented me from speaking; but also again this feeling that even after almost three years I still cannot say I understand this country well enough to discuss it with the Lebanese.

As usual you cannot divide the Lebanese people in the typical two groups: pro or con. With or against. Fight or flight. Involved or on the sidelines. This country has no common opinion. It does not even have two opinions to choose from. It has about four million opinions. The chances of finding someone who agrees completely with either the driver or the passenger are small. Under the current circumstances, the lack of unity is probably a disadvantage for Lebanon, but if the topic was less tragic and destructive I would praise the Lebanese for making the effort to form their own, unique opinion, to think about issues and come to a personal conclusion. Hardly ever will these people accept the news on the television or the paper as being the true without some doubt, consideration and re-checking. Never before have I met a people more eager and willing to believe in conspiracy theories, and never before have I felt my own people to be this passive and credulous.

I have my views about this war. I have my preferences for the future, my fears, my predictions and I could make a case for my opinion, but I rarely do it. Not in front of the Lebanese, or the Syrians. And especially not on this blog, because I would like you to read, contemplate and conclude for yourself.

Lately I’ve been thinking about how we tend to form our opinions mainly from the stories of the same news channel we watch every evening. Maybe because they broadcast at a convenient time, or maybe because we appreciate their lack of sensational news, or maybe because we like the lady presenting the weather, but mainly because we believe it does not matter where we get our news from. In our part of the world it is all complete and objective, right?

Why are you so sure your opinion is the right one? Exactly! Because you see it confirmed on your news channel and you read it in your news paper. So explore! Make an effort to be independent! If you find yourself with some time on your hands this weekend: try reading some news outside the box. If you don’t know where to look you have been in that box far too long.

Happy Independence Day everyone!

  • 22 November 2013 - 15:05

    Jantien:

    Hee liesje,

    mooi blog!
    Ik hoop dat je dit weekend wel weer wat tijd krijgt om te genieten van vrije tijd!
    Kus en tot over een maandje!! :D
    xxx
    Tinus

  • 22 November 2013 - 21:15

    Juul:

    Wauw Liesje, een indrukwekkend blog!
    Je denkt niet 'out of the box', maar realiseert je dat er helemaal geen 'box' is!
    Dat is pas vrijheid.
    Geniet ervan!
    Kus, mam

  • 22 November 2013 - 21:59

    Roel:

    Dear Lies,
    Your blog made me quiet.
    It has everything to do with Lebanon, but may be even more with all of us outside Lebanon.
    We don't have an independence day in The Netherlands, but I think we need one,..................for ourselfs.
    Kiss, and.........................take care out of there!

  • 23 November 2013 - 08:43

    Marlies:

    Bedankt voor de mooie reacties! :)
    Mam, jij hebt het over iets anders dan ik! In mijn verhaal is er wel zeker een box!

  • 23 November 2013 - 11:43

    Elske:

    When we were little, you wanted to be a journalist. I think you would do excellent with a column in the newspaper. That would definitely be the first thing I would read!! I love how you always seem to find the right words and shine a light on situations that, at least for me, would otherwise stay in the dark. Thanks :)
    Lots of love!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Libanon, Beiroet

Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 469
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40376

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: