Day 1. Marhaba and welcome to Beirut. - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu Day 1. Marhaba and welcome to Beirut. - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 1. Marhaba and welcome to Beirut.

Door: Marlies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

07 Maart 2011 | Libanon, Beiroet

After getting up at four in the morning the whole flight from Amsterdam to Frankfurt passed me by (fortunately). I arrived in Frankfurt around 08.30 and felt how hungry I was so I decided to buy an apple. I wasn’t truly awake until I saw the man next to me drinking half a liter beer (08.30 in the morning!!!).
During the flight to Beirut I had a window seat. I picked it because I hoped to enjoy the view… but all I saw were clouds! After a few hours my ears started popping and a friendly voice over the intercom said in German-sounding English that we were starting our descent. Ha nice, I thought and sat up strait to see how we sunk through the clouds and expected to see the city underneath. But the clouds disappeared and I saw… nothing. Just the sea and lots of mist. There was no city. But the plane was going down and down and when I could see the waves in the ocean I started to wonder: am I the only one not seeing this place or does the pilot just trust the instinct of the plane to much? But just when I was considering bending over backwards to see if there was anything to see from the windows on the other side of the aisle, the mist suddenly revealed hills covered in buildings and half taken by dark and unfriendly looking clouds. We sailed (because I am sure I could have touched the water if I could put my hand outside the window!) past the coastline and my first thought was: someone was playing monopoly on these hills and build all his flats on the same corner. Meanwhile we descended further even though we were still only above water. At the last minute a runway appeared as if Jake had just rolled in out for us (most of you won’t know Jake… watch The Rescurers Down Under, a 1990 Disney film ;)

A few minutes later I walked out the airport with my bag, right into the hands of a very friendly UNHCR driver who drove me first by the office and then to my house. My flat mate is very kind and helped me do some shopping this evening.

I wish I could describe Beirut for you… but I can’t. Overwhelmed by new impressions I am still not sure about the city I am in. No other city I have ever been to can be compared to it. After a few hours of walking and driving through the streets and talking to some people I decided it mostly reminds me of Douala. Even though the chaos is like the streets of Jakarta and the smells and contrasts when you turn a corner are like Hong Kong. But still, even if you have been in all of these cities you still can’t imagine Beirut… and neither can I ;)

I am going to eat something small and then sleep. My flat mate went to the gym and my eyes slowly close while I sink away in the comfortable couch. Tomorrow I have to get up early to try to get to the UNHCR office. It will be an adventure and I hope I can write about the positive outcome real soon!

Good night!
Marlies

p.s: My mobile number here in Lebanon is 00961 71926694.

  • 07 Maart 2011 - 18:39

    Tinus:

    Hi Sis!!

    I'm so glad to read that everyting went so well for you today!! Hope the runway wasn't as bumpy as Jake's :p Your story reminds me of a simular sitation I was in when Bas and I went to Corfu, Greece. For a minute we were sertain we were gonna crash into the water. But out of nowere there came a runway when we were about te touch te water. Bit scary :)
    I'm allready looking forward to your next story! And some pics of the city :D
    Love you so much!!! Take care and we'll talk soon!!!!
    Tinus

  • 07 Maart 2011 - 19:28

    Maartje:

    Fijn dat je een goede reis hebt gehad en een aardige huisgenoot hebt!
    Ik hoop dat je het erg naar je zin zult hebben! Ik ben weer aan een nieuw vak begonnen in Wageningen, dus druk druk. Maar goed ik kan toch niet tegen niks doen.
    Veel succes morgen in je weg vinden naar je werk!
    groetjes Maart

  • 07 Maart 2011 - 22:17

    Maaike Brussel:

    Hey Marlies!

    Klinkt als een goed begin! Heel veel plezier en succes en we horen wel weer van je :)
    xx

  • 08 Maart 2011 - 12:09

    Iris H.:

    Hey Marlies, je bent veilig aangekomen en goed ontvangen dus.. :) leuk om te lezen. Ben benieuwd hoe je eerste dag op kantoor je bevalt!

  • 09 Maart 2011 - 07:21

    Mandy (buurmeisje):

    Hey Marlies,

    What a wonderful story to start with! It sounds like a real adventure to do a placement in Beirut. Have fun and I'm looking forward to the next story.

    Take care!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Libanon, Beiroet

Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 293
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40557

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: