New country. New job. New blog. - Reisverslag uit Erbil, Irak van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu New country. New job. New blog. - Reisverslag uit Erbil, Irak van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

New country. New job. New blog.

Door: Marlies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

14 Oktober 2014 | Irak, Erbil

Dear all,

How are you? I started a new job and I decided to also (try) to continue blogging.

Since 8 October I am living and working in Erbil, Kurdistan (it is actually Iraq, but people here prefer Kurdistan). I am working again for and with Syrian refugees, but unlike in Lebanon I am working in a refugee camp here. To be honest, it was the first time I ever visited a real refugee camp, and I must say I was a little shocked. It was exactly as we see it on TV and in the newspapers: ragged, dusty, crowded and poor. The white UNHCR tents are strong, but they can’t protect their inhabitants from the upcoming winter weather (lots of rain and snow!) so improvised but more solid structures are being built to host the refugees, but there will never be enough to move everyone.

Barefoot children in dirty clothes play between the tents, running around us, repeating the only words they know in English (“hi, how are you?”) in such happy voices that it almost made me cry. The reason that these children can so happily play in this miserable situation is because it was even worse where they came from. At least in the camp they are (or supposed to be) safe from violence and separation from their families.

The land of Kurdistan is hilly. There are friendly sloping hills which accommodate the broad asphalt roads, and there are sharp impressive mountains which are ominous and enclosing. I love the space, the yellowy sand color everywhere and the lonely pine trees spread across the lands. I love how the buildings in “my” area of Erbil are low and how we live in a real house, rather than the eternal apartment in 9-story-buildings in Beirut. I love how I can see the moon over the desert at the end of the street when we walk home from work (it gets dark early, I don’t work till mid-night ;) But I also miss Beirut which really felt like home to me… Live in Erbil is very different and it will take some getting used to.. but I am sure I will manage.

Lots of love!

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 11:50

    Els:

    Still think you would make an amazing columnist or journalist. Love to read your blogs even when it's about difficult and painful subjects. Keep on blogging please :)

    Love!
    Els

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 16:13

    Maartje:

    Hey Mar,

    klinkt als heel indrukwekkend allemaal! Ik hoop dat je zinvol werk kunt doen met de vluchtelingen.
    Succes met je nieuwe baan en je nieuwe leven.

    Liefs Maartje

  • 14 Oktober 2014 - 21:03

    Berthe:

    Hoi Marlies,

    Je bent er al, dacht dat je pas aan het eind van het jaar zou gaan, heb het kennelijk niet goed begrepen.
    Ik wens je veel sterkte als je dit nodig hebt. Ik denk aan je!!

    Liefs van Berthe

  • 16 Oktober 2014 - 07:01

    Seza:

    Best of luck Marlies! :*

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Irak, Erbil

Erbil

Work in Erbil

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Juni 2015

Summer

08 April 2015

The main thing

08 April 2015

The main thing

17 Maart 2015

the quantative side of life....

13 Januari 2015

Back in Erbil
Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 580
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40374

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: