PLAN B (at least for now) - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu PLAN B (at least for now) - Reisverslag uit Beiroet, Libanon van Marlies Rotshuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

PLAN B (at least for now)

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

10 Juni 2014 | Libanon, Beiroet

Goodbye to Lebanon (at least for now)....

Dear all,

Last time I wrote how I hoped to be able to write a happier blog. It has been over three months and unfortunately I cannot say I am much happier…

It took some consideration but I have decided to leave Lebanon (at least for now). Next week I will come back to the Netherlands without a solid plan for the future. Over the last months I had to let go of all the plans I used to have - of the future I hoped for – and accept that (at least for now) everything will feel like less good than it could have been, should have been. Despite that, I have to go on with my life and continue with a new plan; plan B.

What this plan will be I am not sure of. I will go home and enjoy being with friends and family, while I know I will miss the friends and family I am leaving behind.

(Un)Fortunately there is a lot of work for aid workers in the Middle East at the moment. I love my job and I love this part of the world, but of course I wish all the NGOs and aid were not necessary anymore. However, until this job becomes redundant, I plan to work in this region and continuing to learn and be amazed by the people here, local and international, refugee or aid worker, with or against, politician or taxi driver or both ;)

So, this will be the last blog (at least for now). Thank you for reading and staying with me over the last years and I hope to be writing to you again soon from somewhere else.

Love,
Marlies

  • 10 Juni 2014 - 20:57

    Maartje:

    Lieve Marlies,

    het is naar dat de dromen die je voor de toekomst had niet zijn uitgekomen, nog niet. Ik hoop dat je in Nederland weer nieuwe energie zult krijgen en zin in (een andere) toekomst. Ik ben benieuwd! Alvast een fijne verjaardag de 12e met je familie en vrienden. Ik denk aan je vanuit het verre Ecuador.
    Liefs, Maartje

  • 10 Juni 2014 - 22:31

    Janneke:

    Love you for being you

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 16:59

    Piet Nelissen:

    beste en dappere Marlies,

    Allereerst onze felicitaties voor je verjaardag. Weliswaar wat laat maar daarom niet minder gemeend. Integendeel. We willen je veel sterkte wensen in het zoeken naar een nieuwe job (voor jou bijna zoiets als een roeping). Geniet ondertussen van je verblijf in Nederland, van je ouders, je zussen en vrienden.

    Hartelijke grote van Diny en Piet Nelissen.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Libanon, Beiroet

Marlies

.

Actief sinds 05 April 2009
Verslag gelezen: 767
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40352

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juni 2016 - 08 Augustus 2016

Greece

07 Oktober 2014 - 07 Februari 2015

Erbil

18 April 2009 - 19 Juli 2009

Afrika :)

07 Maart 2011 - 30 November -0001

Beiroet

Landen bezocht: